LibGuides: Homepage: Home

Basic Stuff About Your Library

When is the library open?

Monday toThursday 8am to 5pm
Friday 8am to 4pm

We are also open in the second week of holidays from 8am to 4pm at the end of Term 1 and Term 2 HOWEVER we are open from 8am to 4pm during the FIRST week of the Term 3 break just prior to the VCE trial exams.

How many books may I borrow?

Students can borrow up to 10 books at a time. You may be able to negotiate borrowing more books over the holidays - INCLUDING the Christmas break - ask us.

How long may I borrow the books?

The normal loan time is four (4) weeks. This may be longer if you borrow over the holiday breaks.

Am I able to borrow the VCE books in the VCE Study Room?

You may borrow these at the end of the day AS LONG as you return them before first period on the next school day. They must be available when needed by other students during study periods each day.

How do I reserve a book?

Ask one of your friendly Librarians to do it for you or you can do it yourself by logging in to your own library account. We check to see if there are any requests every Friday.

How do I request a book for the library collection?

We nearly always buy books that you request. Either come and tell a staff member in person or write it on the suggestion sheets stuck on the end of the Fiction Shelves. Make sure you leave your name there too so that we can get the book to you when it comes in.

ATARNotes+ and NEAP Guides are available for students doing Year 12 VCE subjects

Download the app to get eBooks and Audio books on your devices.

The Age Digital Edition
Provides searchable access to exact replicas of The Age newspapers from 2006 up to this morning's edition. You will need to use the Kilbreda library's username and password. These are posted up on the walls in the library or you can ask a friendly library staff member or teacher.

Guide to using The Age Digital Edition Database

Ancient and Medieval History Database This link opens in a new window
Thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt , Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World.

Modern World History Database This link opens in a new window
World history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.

World Geography and Culture Database This link opens in a new window
Countries, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills. Easy access to articles, maps, flags, current news, statistics, a gazetteer, and more! Examine and understand people, and the various cultures, traditions, and environments of the world in which they live.

World Religions Online This link opens in a new window
World Religions explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today. Covers 15 world religions and traditional spiritual practices, including important topics, spiritual leaders, sacred texts, and holy days and festivals. Log in using the secret Kilbreda password and login. Ask a friend or staff member for help if you have forgotten them.

Science Online This link opens in a new window
Essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments. Includes extensive activities and experiments bank which may be filtered by discipline, time and number of participants.

Echo Issues database This link opens in a new window
Echo Online is where you should go for Yr 11 & 12 Issues and to find excellent breakdowns of major & popular ethical issues. You will need to enter the Username and Password - It is posted up all over the Library Walls

Clickview This link opens in a new window
Thousands of excellent educational videos are available to view through Clickview. Just use your normal school email address and your usual school login.