LibGuides: Business: Business &amp; Legal Home

Trustworthy Information Sites

Econbiz Academic Business and Economics
Journals, Working Papers & Conferences in Business Studies and Economics.EconBiz is a subject portal for economics and business studies.
Australian Citizenship
Department of Immigration & Citizenship provides resources for students & teachers. Also look at the Media section for publications and reports. Information on Australian citizenship including applying for citizenship, citizenship test, teacher and student resources, facts, statistics and law and policy.

Australian Hansard (the record of what is said in Parliament)
This is one of the sites accessible from the Australian Government Portal above. More than 110 years of transcripts of the Australian Federal Parliamentary Proceedings (Hansard) are now available for searching. Yes, they speak like politicians and often avoid the questions, but it is still an excellent place to find primary source information

CIA World Factbook
Excellent site for statistics and other information on countries; yes - produced by the CIA!

Echo Issues database
Echo Online is where you should go for Yr 11 & 12 Issues and to find excellent breakdowns of major & popular ethical issues. You will need to enter the Username and Password - It is posted up all over the Library Walls

FBI’s Vault
An open database of declassified FBI records. Includes many documents related to civil rights, gangsters, popular culture and violent crime.
Money Smart
Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC): Financial tips and safety checks. ASIC also has a website for teachers and educators http://teaching.moneysmart.gov.au/
It provides professional learning and other resources to help educators integrate consumer and financial literacy into teaching and learning programs
Museum of Australian Democracy
The Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House tells the story of Australian democracy and continues to pay respect to the heritage values of this former home of Federal Parliament. The history of Australia’s democracy encompasses our laws and institutions, as well as the way we live as a society. The Museum of Australian Democracy acknowledges that democracy has been experienced by different groups in different ways, and this is reflected in the balanced range of narratives and experiences presented. The museum aims to become a space where groups can share ideas and experiences in a heritage building that was once the hub of Australian democracy.
Nation Master
Includes & develops from CIA World Factbook. Very good information on countries

Open Australia
Search Hansard to find out what your parliamentary representative is doing or search on a topic, or just search Hansard.

ATAR NOTES EXAM PREPARATION

Studyclix
We've broken all the main VCE subjects into bite-sized topics. Use past and trial exam questions to find the gaps in your knowledge and check your understanding using the exam report.

The Age Digital Edition Newspaper

The Age Digital Edition
Provides searchable access to exact replicas of The Age newspapers from 2006 up to this morning's edition. You will need to use the Kilbreda library's username and password. These are posted up on the walls in the library or you can ask a friendly library staff member or teacher.

Clickview

Clickview This link opens in a new window
Thousands of excellent educational videos are available to view through Clickview. Just use your normal school email address and your usual school login.

Where Do I Find Books on These Topics?

Speak with a librarian OR go and have a look on the Non Fiction and Teacher Resources sections of the library. You will find Politics in the 320’s, Economics in the 330’s, Marketing, Management, Business and Accounting around 658 and Legal Studies and Law in the 340’s/350’s

There will also be books on Australian history in the 994's which will talk about issues such as Federation, Conscription etc...

Legal studies/ Making and breaking the Law

Glossary of Legal Terms
This site contains a glossary of legal terms from the Federal Court of Australia.
State Library of Victoria: Finding Legislation
This link will take you to the State Library of Victoria page which provides lots of information about the legal system. You can also access law resources here.