LibGuides: Religion: Religion Home

Religious Portals and Encyclopedias

Catholic Australia
An excellent place to start for many of your assignments. This comes well recommended by respected Catholic associations and organisations. Church documents, the scripture, what Catholics believe, The Sacraments & Liturgy, Spirituality & Prayer, Living the Faith & Mission.
Catholic Online
Provides over five million pages of content including the largest online historical and biblical database about the Catholic Church including comprehensive information about over 7,000 Catholic saints and comprehensive online scriptures from all books of the Old and New Testament.
Encyclopedia Mythica
Over 11,000 entries of varying length on gods, goddesses, demigods etc...
The Guardian Weekly
Great for ethical issues.
The Holy see - the Vatican's site
The official Vatican site; news, videos and more

New Catholic Encyclopedia and Supplementary Volumes
This is a current and authoritative Encyclopedia with valuable resources for all RE assignments. It is recommended for Years 9 - 12.
Religion-Online.Org
More than 6,000 articles & chapters. Topics include Old & New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History & Sociology of Religion, Communication & Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counselling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions & Religious Education

Go to the shelves & have a look or use the library’s catalogue to search for specific topics the library's catalogue, Oliver

Philosophy & ethics 100’s
General Encyclopedias, Historical Atlases & Other Works on World Religions 200’s
Bible, Gospels 220’s
Saints 230’s
Christian Prayers & Sacraments 240’s
Christian Orders & Local Church 250’s
Christian Social Theology 260’s
Christian Church History 270’s
Christian Denomination 280's
Other specific Religions, eg Judaism, Islam, Buddhism 290’s
Myths & Legends 398

World Religions Online This link opens in a new window
World Religions explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today. Covers 15 world religions and traditional spiritual practices, including important topics, spiritual leaders, sacred texts, and holy days and festivals. Log in using the secret Kilbreda password and login. Ask a friend or staff member for help if you have forgotten them.

General Newspaper, Issues and Encyclopedias are ALSO good

The Age Digital Edition
Provides searchable access to exact replicas of The Age newspapers from 2006 up to this morning's edition. You will need to use the Kilbreda library's username and password. These are posted up on the walls in the library or you can ask a friendly library staff member or teacher.
activehistory.co.uk
You need to login using the Kilbreda password to use this database.
Echo Issues database
Echo Online is where you should go for Yr 11 & 12 Issues and to find excellent breakdowns of major & popular ethical issues. You will need to enter the Username and Password - It is posted up all over the Library Walls

John Green on Christianity to Constantine

Clickview This link opens in a new window
Thousands of excellent educational videos are available to view through Clickview. Just use your normal school email address and your usual school login.