As long as you are a member, the State Library of Victoria allows you to search its very extensive and specialised databases from school or home. One example is Psychology.
If you are not a member then follow the instructions on how to join listed on the Researching Online and Study Skills LibGuide here
It is FREE to join
The databases include these:
- Consumer Health Complete
General health and nutrition information for the consumer including, journal articles, reference books and health-related pamphlets.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center & Alternative Health Module 1980– (Gale)
Health and medical information from journals, magazines, reference books and more.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition & Health Source: Consumer Edition 1975– (EBSCO)
A comprehensive subject range for interested consumers and health professionals. Includes journals and reference books, over 750 as full text, and 1000-plus titles indexed.
- Informit Health Collection
Access to over 150 full-text journals and books on Australian and Pacific health topics. This collection also incorporates the Meditext database.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium Medicine Resources
Reference works published by Oxford University Press.
- MIMS Online
Contains detailed information on pharmaceutical products currently available in Australia, prescription and over-the-counter medication. Please note: this is a secure website.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (Ebsco)
Coverage of nearly 550 full-text journals covering topics such as emotional and behavioural characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology and research methods.
- PsycARTICLES 1894–
Database of full-text articles from 63 American Psychological Association journals and other publications.
- PILOTS
Articles on post-traumatic stress disorder and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
