Skip to Main Content

Science: VCE Biology Unit 4

Books

Look for books in the VCE collection, the Teacher Resources collection and even the general non-fiction collection. General Science texts at 500 and 507 General Biology 570 Evolution 576 Cell Structure 571

Online Exams and Preparation

Studyclix
We've broken all the main VCE subjects into bite-sized topics. Use past and trial exam questions to find the gaps in your knowledge and check your understanding using the exam report.

Also have a look at the ATARNotes+ service which is available to all students who are doing a VCE subject

Science Online

Science Online
Essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments. Includes extensive activities and experiments bank which may be filtered by discipline, time and number of participants.

Links recommended by VCAA and teachers

Biozone
Bio Links Online Database (with many biology links, updated regularly) Recommended VCAA site.
Learn Genetics
The Genetic Science Learning Center at The University of Utah is a nationally and internationally-recognized education program that translates science and health for non-experts. In addition to genetics, we address all areas of life science and health as well as other scientific fields. Link provided by Kilbreda teacher.

Animal Diversity Org
Animal Diversity Web – University of Michigan, Museum of Zoology – classification of animals. VCAA site.
The Encyclopedia of Life
A database which aims to describe all known species, Students can enter the common or species name of an organism, and they will then be presented with detailed information, including an image, classification, distribution, habitat, conservation threats and links to other websites on the species

ABC Science
The ABC Science site, The Lab, is a rich resource for science teachers and students, with new material being added almost every day

Review guide

Spark notes Biology
Created by Harvard students, SparkNotes study guides contain thorough summaries & insightful critical analysis

Links to science Video sites

Crash Course on You Tube Videos
These are just amazing - there are very entertaining and short guides on a very wide range of subjects from Literature to Chemistry

DNA Tube
High quality science clips on a variety of topics

Khan Academy
A multimedia lesson bank with over 3,000 ten minute videos to help you learn Maths, statistics, physics, chemistry, history and economics

10 science YouTube channels you can't miss
Includes Minute Physics; The Science Channel; SciShow; The Periodic Table of Videos, AsapSCIENCE and the excellent Vsauce.

125 great science videos
Astronomy, physics, psychology, biology, ecology, technology....

Veritasium
Veritasium is a channel of science and engineering videos featuring experiments, expert interviews, cool demos, and discussions with the public about everything science. Recommended by Kilbreda Teachers.

Clickview

Clickview This link opens in a new window
Thousands of excellent educational videos are available to view through Clickview. Just use your normal school email address and your usual school login.

Find books at these numbers

Look for books in the VCE collection, the Teacher Resources collection and even the general non-fiction collection.

General Science texts at 500 and 507
General Biology 570
Evolution 576
Cell Structure 571