LibGuides: Food Studies: Units 1 & 2 2025

Specific links and documents to support chapters in Units 1 & 2 Food Studies 2025

Food Labelling NSW Food Authority
As Australia’s first and only wholly integrated through-chain food regulatory agency, the NSW Food Authority is responsible for regulating and monitoring food safety across the entire food industry supply chain in NSW - from paddock to plate. The Food Authority plays a vital role in protecting the health and wellbeing of the people in NSW through: mitigating food safety risks; rapidly responding in the event of a food safety incident; improving the clarity and accessibility of food information; providing education, training and technical information to consumers and industry.
Food Literacy Quiz
Understanding the story of one’s food, from farm to table and back to the soil; the knowledge and ability to make informed choices that support one’s health, community, and the environment. How food literate are you? Answer these 15 questions to find out!
History of food. From Farm to Table | Nat Geo Live
Published on Jan 19, 2015. A twenty minute Youtube. From humankind's first farmers to the present-day battle over GMOs, photographer Jim Richardson takes us on a 5,000-year journey documenting how agriculture has transformed our planet and how we must continue to transform in order to feed Earth's ever-increasing population.
Nourish Video
Enjoy our growing collection of short films and video clips on food.

The Age Digital Edition
Provides searchable access to exact replicas of The Age newspapers from 2006 up to this morning's edition. You will need to use the Kilbreda library's username and password. These are posted up on the walls in the library or you can ask a friendly library staff member or teacher.

BBC Food techniques
Cooking techniques for all sorts of dishes and skill levels.
How Its Made Raisins Discovery Channel
Video goes for just under 5 minutes.
How to Make Dried Fruit (Using Your Oven)
A little way down the page is a 'poster' with the drying times of different fruit. With over 375K shares this has to work. From "Sparkpeople Live Healthy & Happy".
Short "How To" YouTube demonstrations from Jamie Oliver
Welcome to the Food Tube Family and the largest foodie community in Europe! We are all about beautiful recipes, expert tutorials, fresh talent, wonderful food and funny videos every week.
Using Phyllo Pastry - Good Food - BBC
3 and a half minutes of phyllo pastry perfection. Sarah Cook demonstrates how to work with phyllo pastry and prepares a cranberry and Brie triangle parcel.
Australian Guide To Healthy Eating pdf
Australian Government document shows resources that are used to complete a nutrition evaluation of foods made.

Chapter 1: The origins of food: Ancient hunter gatherer societies; Mbuti Pygmies; The Sami; Early development of agricultural food systems; Domestication of animals; Development of agriculture.

ABC Science on the Paleolithic diet
"Paleolithic diet doesn't weigh up." Karl Kruszelnicki’s is an Australian household science name. Always an engaging speaker, he appears on radio, TV, books, newspapers, magazines, scripting, professional speaking, and of course, the Net. His science homepage (which has well over 4 million words on it) gets about 700,000 pages downloaded each week.
Biebbmo - Sami food in tradition and renewal.
Youtube video. WARNING – shows hunting and preparing whole reindeer
Debunking the Paleo diet. 22 minute TedXOU talk.
TedXOU talk. TED Fellow Christina Warinner is an expert on ancient diets. So how much of the diet fad the "Paleo Diet" is based on an actual Paleolithic diet? The answer is not really any of it.
Edible weeds that are safe to eat
Notes from an ABC program. Weeds by definition are unwanted and wild. But what you may not know is that some of the main common culprits are actually edible and quite nutritious
From Hunter-Gatherer to Farmer
Video in 4 parts. Has subtitles for some interviews. From Hunter-Gatherer to Farmer (10.26)(9.28)(9.27)(6.27)
Historical Origins of Food Preservation
Historical Origins of Food Preservation Brian A. Nummer, Ph.D. National Center for Home Food Preservation May 2002
Mesopotamia From Nomads to Farmers
Cartoon video footage - 14 minutes. The comments section is full of disgruntled students lamenting the quality of the cartoon! Spicy!
Paleo diet article from the Scientific American journal
How to Really Eat Like a Hunter-Gatherer: Why the Paleo Diet Is Half-Baked [Interactive & Infographic]. We are not biologically identical to our Paleolithic predecessors, nor do we have access to the foods they ate. And deducing dietary guidelines from modern foraging societies is difficult because they vary so much by geography, season and opportunity.
Paleo Diet may need rewriting
Published by the Smithsonian Institute in America. The Paleo Diet May Need a Rewrite: "Ancient Humans Feasted on a Wide Variety of Plants. Archaeologists in Israel have counted 55 species of plant foods a an early hominid site on Lake Hula."
Wikipedia: Ancient grains
A fairly short entry which has links and images.
Wikipedia: Paleolithic
Wikipedia, a good and long entry covering all things Paleolithic including food.
Wikpedia: List of ancient dishes
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Very short article on ancient dishes.

Pros and Cons of the Paleo diet

Archaeologists find earliest evidence of bread
From the Guardian. Tiny specks of bread found in fireplaces used by hunter-gatherers 14,000 years ago, predating agriculture by thousands of years

Ancient and Medieval History Database
Thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt , Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World.

This database is very good for exploring the ancient beginnings of food.

Chapter 2: Development of food cultures: Food cultures and cuisines around the world; The fertile crescent; The Mediterranean; Eurasia; East Asia and Oceania; The Americas.

UNESCO food culture
UNESCO Food Culture: 30 Amazing Culinary Traditions Around the World
What is food culture?
Food and culture are closely related to each other. The fact is that food can influence culture, but more importantly, culture influences food. Food and culture are not two different things. In fact, food is actually closely integrated into the culture of a country, people, or location.
Wikipedia Fertile Crescent
Good overview of the geography and history of the area.
Around the world in 80 cuisines - The Fertile Crescent
"My quest to cook four meals from every region in the world!"

Wikipedia Mediterranean cuisine
A good overview. Includes sections on: Geography; Key ingredients; History; Cooking; Mediterranean diet and cuisine; A changing cuisine.
Wikipedia Eurasian cuisine
In general, Eurasians are people of any mixed European and Asian ancestry. However, if referring to Eurasian cuisine, usually the amalgamation of Portuguese, Dutch, British, Chinese, Malay, and also Indian and Peranakan influences is meant. Within this cuisine, ingredients in European dishes are replaced or complemented by Asian ingredients. Conversely, European ingredients are used in Asian dishes.
Wikipedia Asian cuisine
Asian cuisine includes several major regional cuisines: Central Asian, East Asian, North Asian, South Asian, Southeast Asian, and West Asian.
A large range of Oceanic foods
Since the region of Oceania consists of islands, seafood is a prominent part of the diet, with vegetables such as potatoes, sweet potato, taro and yams being the main starch. Coconut, and its derivative products such as coconut milk, coconut oil and coconut sugar, is an important ingredient in the tropics of Oceania.
Wikipedia South America cuisine
South American cuisine has many influences, due to the ethnic fusion of South America. The most characteristic are Native American, African, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, and Indian-South Asian. However, there is a mix of European, North American, and indigenous cuisines
11 Traditional Foods from Central America and South America
From Homeschool Spanish academy. South and Central American food fuse native ingredients with European, Asian, and African influences. From the southern part of the Andes to northern Mexico, Central and South American cuisine is full of flavors and colors.

Chapter 3: Global growth of food production and trade: Patterns in the global spread of food production and trade ; Grains; Tea & coffee; Spices, sugar and chocolate; Salt.

The Global Food System: An Analysis
Agriculture now occupies roughly half of the plant-habitable surface of the planet, uses 69% of extracted fresh water and, together with the rest of the food system, is responsible for 25 – 30% of greenhouse gas emissions. The expansion of industrial fishing fleets and a higher demand for seafood globally have led to the collapse or total exploitation of over 90% of the world’s marine fisheries. A growing demand for land-based animal products is the primary driver of tropical deforestation. Through its direct and intermediate impacts, the food system is the largest contributor to the depletion of biodiversity.
Excellent interactive map of the world
On this page, you can find data and visualizations relating to agricultural production. You can search by country, crop and data type such as grains; tea & coffee; spices, sugar and chocolate; salt. Data dates to 2020

Click on the Clickview links below

Chocolate: the bitter truth (Four corners)
Black Coffee – 2 parts

Chapter 4: Industrialisation and food production: Development of technology in primary food production.

How Technology Is Transforming The Food Industry
When it comes to food, tech isn’t always the first thing that comes to mind. However, technology over the years has changed how we produce and find our food through applications, robotics, data and processing techniques.
National Geographic articles
Technological innovations have greatly shaped agriculture throughout time. From the creation of the plow to the global positioning system (GPS) driven precision farming equipment, humans have developed new ways to make farming more efficient and grow more food.
3 technologies poised to change food and the planet Published: February 19, 2021
From the very respected Conversation site. Agriculture’s impact on the planet is massive and relentless. Roughly 40 per cent of the Earth’s suitable land surface is used for cropland and grazing. The number of domestic animals far outweighs remaining wild populations. Every day, more primary forest falls against a tide of crops and pasture and each year an area as large as the United Kingdom is lost. If humanity is to have a hope of addressing climate change, we must reimagine farming.
New Agriculture Technology in Modern Farming By Linly KuPublished on Sep. 15, 2022
Innovation is more important in modern agriculture than ever before. The industry as a whole is facing huge challenges, from rising costs of supplies, a shortage of labor, and changes in consumer preferences for transparency and sustainability. There is increasing recognition from agriculture corporations that solutions are needed for these challenges.

Chapter 5: Indigenous Australian food: Indigenous Australians; Challenges for non-Indigenous settlers of establishing a sustainable food supply.

Bush food: warrigal greens
Food & drink Australia food blog: The final meal taken on board the Endeavour after leaving Botany Bay was skate and warrigal greens, according to the diary of ship's botanist Joseph Banks. Banks also took some seeds back with him to Kew Gardens in 1771, making them the first Australian food plant to be cultivated abroad. Later, they also made their way to France, where, naturellement, they were renamed French spinach
Bush tucker
Wikipedia can be very good. This site is excellent.
Indigenous eel traps
Short 2017 article from the Guardian newspaper. Traditional owners push for a 6,000-year-old network of eel traps in south-west Victoria to be included on the world heritage.
Large pdf file on Aboriginal bush foods and the ethical guidelines.
Link to a large 66 page pdf published in 2011 titled "Aboriginal people, bush foods knowledge and products from central Australia : Ethical guidelines for commercial bush food research, industry and enterprises
Native tates of Australia: warrigal greens
Bush food: warrigal greens and other native foods with modern recipes.
SBS : About Native Food
Before European settlers arrived in Australia, there was a thriving food culture, one that happily sustained the Aboriginal people for tens of thousands of years. However, that food culture, often referred to as bush tucker, has been largely ignored over the past 200 years.
SBS : Key Ingredients Native Australian
By SBS Food 31 May 2013 and UPDATED 13 Mar 2017
Wikipedia Bush Food
Very comprehensive Wikipedia site.
Phillip’s Table: Food in the early Sydney settlement by Jacqui Newling 2018
When considering food in the early settlement of New South Wales, acknowledgement must be given to the Aboriginal peoples whose expert care and sustainable management of the land facilitated the British colonists' survival. While the land may have seemed to outsiders be an inhospitable or even hostile wilderness, had it not been groomed, tended and nurtured by its local peoples, the colonisers would have faced a much more difficult task in establishing themselves in this place.

Bush tucker by Robert Gott
Call Number: 581.6109945 GOT in the First Nations Collection

ISBN: 1740702972

Before European settlement, Aboriginal people gathered all the food they needed to live healthy lives from the bush around them. Today, people in the outback and in the cities are enjoying bush tucker prepared in many different ways. Learn about Aboriginal food customs and laws, discover an A-Z of bush-food plants and find out more about cooking bush food at home.
First nations food companion by Damien Coulthard and Rebecca Sullivan
Call Number: 641.5994 COU

ISBN: 9781922351883

Publication Date: 2022

There is an edible pantry of unique flavours that First Nations people have been making the most of long before anyone came up with the word 'foodie'. This book includes the most accessible and popular indigenous Australian ingredients and their uses in the everyday home kitchen. It includes an informative guide to more than 60 of the most accessible Indigenous ingredients, including their flavour profiles, along with tips for how to buy, grow and store them. This is followed by recipes: all featuring native ingredients, and including tips for substituting regular pantry ingredients where needed. There is also information indigenous medicine gardens, as well as how to set up your pantry and freezer, and the best places to find native ingredients in shops and online

Chapter 6: Development of agricultural production in Australia: Development of agricultural production in Australia; Development of horticulture in Australia; Development of food processing in Australia; The impact of railway construction on the development of food production.

Agriculture in Australia growing more than our farming future
Published by The Conversation in July 2014
CSIRO Farming and Food Production
Our diverse food and farming research ranges from studying the make-up of our crops and animals to the methods and food processing technologies we develop to produce healthier, safer and more sustainable food
A hundred years of agriculture
An Australian Bureau of Statistics report covering the century from 1900 to 2000.
Snapshot of Australian Agriculture 2022
This Insights report describes the current state of Australian agriculture, with the aim of providing key information and statistics in one place. It covers eight key aspects of Australian agriculture: its role in the broader economy, trends in production, industry structure and productivity, climate change impacts and risk management, agricultural employment, government support, trade and impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Wikipedia Agriculture in Australia
Contains information on: History; Production; Major agricultural products; Importance of irrigation; Genetic modification and issues facing Australian agriculture.

2030 Roadmap Australias agriculture plan for a 100 billion dollar industry

How the railroad evolved the produce industry
American. Uploaded by JANICE M. KRESIN December 2, 2019.
“Looking Back in Anger – Food Glorious Food!”
An interesting blog looking at the Victorian railway network over time and how it has, according to the blogger, been run-down by managers over the years.

Chapter 7: Patterns of migration to Australia; Influences of Greek immigration on Australian cuisine.

Australian Food History Timeline
A well illustrated site where you get to select the dates in a moving timeline.
Dim sims: The history of a Chinese-Australian icon
Article taken from ABC Radio Melbourne 2016
What Americans can learn from other food cultures
This article is American-centric but it does raise the issues of different food cultures. Part of the excellent TedTalks resources.

Cultural Influences on Australian Foods

Chapter 8: Food trends and changing social behaviour; Food subcultures in contemporary Australia; Influence of Australian chefs on food trends; Does Australia have its own distinctive cuisine; Developing a discussion web.

Taste : How Australian food has evolved
Australian cuisine has come a long way since 1788, from cook to celebrity chef, tucker to dukkah. Nutritionist Nicole Senior looks at our evolution into a modern, multicultural food nation.
A Story of Food in Australia DEVELOPMENT & SOCIETY : Food Security, Economics, Oceania 2011•04•08 Rebecca Huntley
This is quite an old article but it is an interesting read nevertheless
Foodie Culture And Its Impact On The Culinary Landscape by Lightspeed 2020-11-25
Today, the act of eating is expected to yield a heightened sensory experience one can enjoy alone or share with others. It’s become a vehicle for self-expression and reflection; an excuse to get together; a way to learn, listen and bond.
Wikipedia Australian cuisine
Australian cuisine is the food and cooking practices of Australia and its inhabitants. As a modern nation of large-scale immigration, Australia has absorbed culinary contributions and adaptations from various cultures around the world, including British, European, Asian and Middle Eastern.
A guide to Australian cuisine
The definition of “Australian” cuisine has always been hotly debated, but there are some essential characteristics most of us can agree on. Unfettered by tradition, we don’t mind cherry-picking from other cuisines, expertly combining native bush foods, seafood and endemic proteins such as crocodile, kangaroo and emu, with the flavours of our Asian neighbours and the traditional foods of newer Australians. We’ve created a cuisine that speaks of our history, geography and diverse population.

Chapter 9: Understanding food systems; Stages of a food system; Trends, issues and influences in the Australian food industry sectors; Primary food production in Australia today.

Top Food Trends 2024
Innova’s products and services can be tailored to your business. Providing data, analysis, research and insights that work specifically for you and in ways that match the needs and workflows of your teams.
Top 10 Food Trends 2021
IFT › News & Publications › Food Technology › Issues › April 2021, Volume 75, No. 3 › Top 10 Food Trends of 2021
The 7 Biggest Food Trends From the Past Decade
Food trends 2010 to 2020 The hospitality industry has experienced a large number of food trends in the past decade. From food delivery to plant-based meals, Australians are no strangers to fads and are normally early adopters. We’ve uncovered the seven biggest trends that hit venues across Australia over the past 10 years – no matter what size establishment you were, we guarantee they had an impact.
Return to Blog Future focus: 10 key trends in Australia’s food and beverage industry BlogBusiness By Duncan Khoury – 07 December 2022
10 trends that will shape the future of the food and beverage industry in 2023 and beyond
TOP 10 2022 AUSTRALIAN FOOD TRENDS Posted by Kerry Heaney | Food Issues
Brisbane‘s most respected food travel blog since 2008. Travelling the world bite by bite.
Snapshot of Australian Agriculture 2024
From the Department of Agriculture Fisheries and Forestry. This Insights report describes the current state of Australian agriculture, with the aim of providing key information and statistics in one place. It covers eight key aspects of Australian agriculture: its role in the broader economy, trends in production, industry structure and productivity, climate change impacts and risk management, agricultural employment, government support, trade and impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Chapter 10: Food processing in Australia; Leading food processing and manufacturing industries in Australia; Case study - Australian international foods; Role of the food service sector and major food retailers in Australia; Influence of consumer demand on Australia's food supply.

Food brand owners
This Infographic Shows How Only 10 Companies Own All The World’s Food Brands. The publisher is "Good" and you can find out about them at http://www.goodinc.com/about
Australia’s Top 100 Food & Drink Companies 2024
Every year, in collaboration with market research firm IBISWorld, we gather all of the latest company data to reveal a ranking by revenue of Australia’s heaviest hitters in food and beverage to create our Australia’s Top 100 Food & Drink Companies report.
Food Factory full episodes
Canadian food network.

What's New in Food Processing : Industry News
Food processing industry newsletter
Food system transformation and the role of consumer demand
Citizens can play a significant role in food system transformation; however, decision-makers must address key structural, financial and psychological barriers if we are to maximise demand for sustainably produced food.

There are 24 Clickview videos on the "Inside the Factory" series - Log in and see what is covered: LOTS of FOOD episodes - biscuits, sausages, coffee, pasta, soft drinks, crisps, bread, sauces, fish fingers and more.

Chapter 11: Process of product development; Evaluating food products.

What is Product Development?
The product development process is a six-stage plan that involves taking a product from initial concept to final market launch. This process helps break down tasks and organize cross-departmental collaboration. Find out how to implement a process of your own.
A 7 Stage Plan
Developing a new product can be a very exciting yet overwhelming process. There are many different elements that need to be considered. In this post, we will explain the seven steps you need to follow to develop a product, helping product teams to enjoy a smooth and efficient development process.
Study Smarter site: Product development process
What are some of the steps a company should take when developing a new product? How do they create and market a new product successfully? What is the product development process?

Chapter 12: Food safety: Regulating food safety in Australia; National authorities; State authorities; Local authorities; Food industry safety programs.

Australian food standards code
A Government site; Food safety standards place obligations on Australian food businesses to produce food that is safe and suitable to eat. A food business is any business or activity that involves the handling of any type of food for sale, or the sale of food in Australia.
The standards, which also contain health and hygiene obligations for food handlers, aim to lower the incidence of food-borne illness.
Charts : Food Safety at a Glance
United States Government site : How long can you store leftovers in the refrigerator? How can you tell when chicken breasts are done? How long does it take to cook a turkey? Check out these charts for fast answers
FAQs about food recalls for consumers
Published by the Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) which is an independent statutory agency established by the Food Standards Australia New Zealand Act 1991 (FSANZ Act). FSANZ is part of the Australian Government's Health portfolio. FSANZ develops standards that regulate the use of ingredients, processing aids, colourings, additives, vitamins and minerals. The Food Standards Code also covers the composition of some foods, e.g. dairy, meat and beverages as well as foods developed by new technologies such as genetically modified foods. We are also responsible for some labelling requirements for packaged and unpackaged food, e.g. specific mandatory warnings or advisory labels
Food Inspectors
Enfield Council's food inspectors Mary and Claire visit a Chinese takeaway, where they discover a rabbit which belongs to the owner's daughter and is being kept in a food preparation area. They also find an area awash with mouse droppings and urine, and in an outside storage shed there are the remains of a dead rat or mouse.
Food Label Flipped Classroom
Flipped lesson food Labels (14.12). American presenter.
Food Labelling Australia and New Zealand
Published by the Food Standards Australia New Zealand government body, this site provides a link to the Food Standards code and also provides information on Country of origin labelling; Fish labelling; Food allergies and intolerances; Food sold at fundraising events; Ingredients list and percentage labelling; Labelling Review; Nutrition, health and related claims; Truth in labelling; Warning and advisory statements.
Food labels: How to read and decipher the fine print
Food labels are the only thing we have to tell us what we're actually buying in those shiny, colourful and well-marketed processed food packets. Before anyone can stick to a diet or accommodate a food allergy, they need to know what they are eating: every ingredient.
Food Safety Fundamentals
Published on Nov 8, 2012. Food Safety Fundamentals video featuring Adam Liaw.
Food Safety Information Council
Lots of quizzes. The Food Safety Information Council is a health promotion charity and Australia’s leading disseminator of consumer-targeted food safety info which aims to address the estimated 4.1 million cases of food poisoning in Australia that result in 31,920 hospitalisations, 86 deaths and 1 million visits to doctors on average every year.
Food safety news: Parents haunted by decisions as raw milk’s impact lingers
Article describes dangers which did not exist 35 years ago from drinking raw milk.
Food Safety When Cooking
From Victorian State Government and Better Health Channel
Jamie Oliver’s cooking school
What not to do in the kitchen/health and safety - Jamie Oliver's Home Cooking Skills.
Sustainable Table : How Industrial Food Impacts Your Health
Published and updated in February 2024 by "GRACE Communications Foundation" which says they develop "innovative strategies to increase public awareness of the critical environmental and public health issues created by our current industrial food system, and to advocate for more sustainable alternatives." Be aware that it appears that none of their directors or researchers are doctors and I can't see any specific health degrees among them in their 'about us' section. Not saying that what they put up on the site is not true - but find some corroboration. Note inserted by Kilbreda Librarian.

Mum sues Reject Shop over dead mouse allegedly found in SpongeBob biscuit packet
Warning: This story contains an image which may be distressing. A mother says she and her young daughter are traumatised after opening a packet of SpongeBob SquarePants biscuits bought at the Reject Shop and finding a dead mouse inside.

“The second mouse gets the cheese!”
― Terry Pratchett, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents

What you need to know about the health star rating on foods
ABC News First posted 12 October 2017

Chapter 13: Why do we cook food?; How food is cooked; Methods of cooking food; Dry methods; Moist methods; Electromagnetic radiation.

Wikipedia cooking and curing methods
Way too many methods! Has links to each of them.
Webstaurant Types of Cooking Methods
The three types of cooking methods are dry heat cooking, moist heat cooking, and combination cooking. Each of these methods uses heat to affect foods in a different way. All cooking techniques, from grilling to steaming, can be grouped under one of these three methods. Understanding and mastering the different types of cooking methods is essential to becoming a great chef. Knowledge of cooking techniques allows you to work with a variety of ingredients and kitchen equipment to achieve consistent, flavorful results in your cooking. Continue reading to learn about the three main types of cooking, all the techniques that fall under those types, and the foods that are complemented by these techniques.

Chapter 14: Chemical and physical changes to the properties of food; The pH scale; Enzymes; Aeration; Protein; Sugar; Starch; Fats and oils.

STEM in Context Physical and Chemical Changes in the Kitchen
Many physical and chemical changes happen when food is prepared. Chemistry never tasted so good!

How do you go from flour, sugar, and eggs to cookies? Or from fruit juice to popsicles? Making food is all about changes! These can be physical changes or chemical changes
Alkaline & Acidic Foods Chart: Understanding The pH Spectrum Of Food
The body maintains a delicate pH balance. Technically, pH is a measure of the hydrogen ion concentration in solution. The pH scale runs from 0-14. Neutral pH is 7.0. The higher the pH (greater than 7) the more alkaline or basic, while a pH lower than 7 is acidic. Here's a primer on what foods are more acidic or alkaline.

Chapter 15: Comparing homemade and commercial meals and dishes; Factors that influence our food choices and meal planning decisions; Valuing health and its impact on meal planning and preparation.

Chapter 16: Designing and adapting recipes: Managing food choices to meet specific dietary needs; Developing individual food skills; Opportunities and pathways for the home cook.

5 Tips to Adapt Old Recipes
By the Food Bloggers of Canada
Recipe modification tips
From the government eatforhealth.gov.au site. Favourite and traditional recipes can often be modified to include more fibre, more fruit and vegetables and less saturated fat, added sugars, added salt and less kilojoules.

Check out the "Recipes to Riches" series on Clickview

Chapter Titles and contents

The study design for 2024 covers the following areas of study. The LibGuide has been set up to mirror the chapter headings in the textbook (Food Solutions 5th edition).

1: The origins of food: Ancient hunter gatherer societies; Mbuti people; The Sami; Early development of agricultural food systems; Domestication of animals; Development of agriculture.

2: Development of food cultures: The historical development of food systems across the globe; Food cultures and cuisines around the world; Sub-Saharan Africa; The fertile crescent; The Mediterranean; Eurasia; East Asia and Oceania; The Americas.

3: Global growth of food production and trade: Patterns in the global spread of food production and trade; Grains; Tea & coffee; Spices, sugar and chocolate; Oil.

4: Industrialisation and food production: The impact of industrialisation on food availability and production; Technological developments in food production; Impact of globalisation on food availability.

5: Australian native foods: First Nations Australians peoples prior to European settlement; Foods and flavourings used by Australias First Nations peoples; Tools and technology used to obtain and prepare food; Human and natural resources used by First Nations Australians; Specialist knowledge and practices of First Nations Australians; Challenges faced by non-Indigenous settlers in establishing a sustainable food supply.

6: Development of food production in Australia: Development of agricultural production in Australia; Development of horticulture in Australia; Development of food processing in Australia; The impact of railway construction on the development of food production.

7: Impact of migration on Australian cuisine: Patterns of migration to Australia; Influence of Greek immigration on Australian cuisine.

8: Food in contemporary Australia: Food trends driven by changing social behaviour; Food subcultures in contemporary Australia; Influence of Australian chefs on Australian cuisine; Does Australia have its own distinctive cuisine?; Developing a discussion web.

9: Australian food industry trends and issues: Understanding food systems; Stages of a food system, Trends, issues and influences on the Australian food industry sectors; Primary food production in Australia today.

10: Food processing in Australia today: Food processing in Australia; Leading food processing and manufacturing industries in Australia; Case study - Australian international foods; Role of the food service sector and major food retailers in Australia; Influence of consumer demand on Australia's food supply.

11: Food product development: Process of product development; Evaluating food products.

12: Food safety: Regulating food safety in Australia; National authorities; State authorities; Local authorities; Food industry safety programs.

13: Cooking food: Why do we cook food?; How food is cooked; Methods of cooking food; Dry methods; Moist methods; Electromagnetic radiation.

14: The science of food: Chemical and physical changes to the properties of food; The pH scale; Enzymes; Aeration; Protein; Sugar; Starch; Fats and oils.

15: Food in the home: Comparing homemade and commercial meals and dishes; Factors that influence our food choices and meal planning decisions; Valuing health and its impact on meal planning and preparation.

16: Designing and adapting recipes: Managing food choices to meet specific dietary needs; Developing individual food skills; Opportunities and pathways for the home cook.