LibGuides: Humanities: General History Resources

Big Bold Broad History Sites - Good For Everything!

Ancient and Medieval History Database
Thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt , Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World.
Modern World History Database
World history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history.

CIA World Factbook
Excellent site for statistics and other information on countries; yes - produced by the CIA!
The History Learning Site includes the Reformation for RE
Do a search on the word 'Reformation' and you will be given links to good pages on the German, Catholic and Counter Reformation, the Popes and Martin Luther. Specifically good for Luther and the Anabaptists, Council of Trent. Recommended by a past Head of the RE department.
Spark Notes History Resources
Created by Harvard students, this links to the History section of SparkNotes study guides which contains thorough summaries & insightful critical analysis of a number of History topics including ancient Rome, Middle Ages, Renaissance, French & Russian Revolutions, WWI & WWII and more…
State Library Ergo History site
Provides good information and links to Australian History. Good for Years 7- 10

TROVE National Library of Australia Newspaper Digitisation
4million+ pages cover exact copies of Australian newspapers including advertisements, comics etc... from nearly every State and Territory newspaper from 1803 to the mid 1950's and the Australian Woman's Weekly from 1933 to 1982
activehistory.co.uk
You need to login using the Kilbreda password to use this database.
World Religions Online
World Religions explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today. Covers 15 world religions and traditional spiritual practices, including important topics, spiritual leaders, sacred texts, and holy days and festivals. Log in using the secret Kilbreda password and login. Ask a friend or staff member for help if you have forgotten them.

Watch ClickView videos on History Here

There are over 200 History videos that you can watch at home or at school from ClickView. See link below.

Other excellent places to find History videos include the YouTube CrashCourse site narated by John Green as well as the Khan Academy. Links to both of these sites can be found in this guide.

Clickview
Thousands of excellent educational videos are available to view through Clickview. Just use your normal school email address and your usual school login.

You can also access Clickview videos directly from the Library's catalog, OIiver.

Where Do I Find Books on These Topics?

This is the list of Key Humanities Topics & where they are on the shelves in Australian libraries. Go to the shelves & have a look or use the library’s catalogue to search for specific topics)

Starting point for General History encyclopedias / broad timelines 909’s
History of Ancient Worlds - Roman Empire, Ancient China, Ancient Greece, Ancient Egypt 930’s
History of Europe : Renaissance, WW1 & WW11, Nazi Germany 940’s

Customs, Etiquette, Myths & Legends 390’s
History of Asia/ Africa 950’s/960’s
History of North/South America 970’s/980’s
History of Australia 994’s