LibGuides: VCE VM: VCE VM Literacy Year 11 2024

VCE VM Year 11 Literacy Issues 2024

Climate Change and Environmental Policies

View A: Advocates for stronger environmental regulations argue that Australia, as a significant global emitter, needs to take more robust action against climate change. This includes moving away from coal and investing in renewable energy.

View B: Opponents worry about the economic implications, particularly for regions dependent on coal mining. They argue for a balanced approach that safeguards jobs while gradually transitioning to cleaner energy sources.

Resources.

Issues in Society

See the 2020 Issues in Society publication on "Australia's Energy Debate" from the Issues in Society box below.

See the 2014 Issues in Society publication on "The Climate Change Crisis" from the Issues in Society box below.

Echo

From the ECHO database (see the box below) click on the top right hand "Media Issues Analysis" link and then select the "2020-2021 media issue analysis" on the left. You will now be able to select this excellent resource: "Should governments and companies be legally obligated to protect people from climate change?"

ALSO - DEFINITELY CHECK OUT "THE AGE DIGITAL EDITION" (YOU'LL NEED TO LOG IN FOR THAT ONE) AND "THE CONVERSATION" LINK

Indigenous Rights and Recognition

View A: Proponents stress the need for formal recognition of Indigenous Australians in the nation's constitution and stronger rights to protect their cultures and lands.

View B: Some opponents question the necessity of constitutional recognition or worry it might create divisions in Australian society.

Resources

Echo

From the ECHO database (see the box below) click on the top right hand "Media Issues Analysis" link and then select the "2023 media issue analysis" on the left. You will now be able to select this excellent resource: "The Voice referendum: Should Australia guarantee an Indigenous Voice to Parliament within the Constitution?"

Issues in Society

See the 2014 Issues in Society publication on "Indigenous Rights" from the Issues in Society box below.

ALSO - DEFINITELY CHECK OUT "THE AGE DIGITAL EDITION" (YOU'LL NEED TO LOG IN FOR THAT ONE) AND "THE CONVERSATION" LINK

The Conversation 2023 article: Indigenous voices can be heard without being constitutionally enshrined, just look at the US
It was always going to be a big ask for Australians to vote in favour of an Indigenous Voice to Parliament. There’s been much said about the challenges posed by the double majority requirement. In the wash-up, many are asking what the path to reconciliation is now. Some answers may lay in other settler societies.

The Voice to Parliament by Thomas Mayo & Kerry O'Brien
Call Number: First Nations Collection 323.119 MAY
ISBN: 9781741178869
Publication Date: 2023
The Voice to Parliament Handbook is an easy-to-follow guide for the millions of Australians who have expressed support for the Uluru Statement from the Heart, but want to better understand what a Voice to Parliament actually means. 'We invite you to walk with us in a movement of the Australian people for a better future.' These words from the Uluru Statement from the Heart are a heartfelt invitation from First Nations People to fellow Australians, who will have the opportunity to respond when the Voice referendum is put to a national vote by the Albanese Government. Indigenous leader Thomas Mayo and acclaimed journalist Kerry O’Brien have written this handbook to answer the most commonly asked questions about why the Voice should be enshrined in the Constitution, and how it might function to improve policies affecting Indigenous communities, and genuinely close the gap on inequalities at the most basic level of human dignity.
An Indigenous Voice to Parliament by Frank Brennan
Call Number: First Nations Collection 323.119 BRE
ISBN: 9781922484659
Publication Date: 2023
Australians will soon be asked to vote in a referendum asking 'Do you support an alteration to the Constitution that establishes an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Voice?' Frank Brennan has been an advocate for Indigenous rights for 40 years. Here he shows the difficult path travelled by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander leaders and their supporters to get to this question. In the past, advocates argued for changes to Commonwealth Parliament's powers to legislate for Indigenous Australians and to the capacity of the High Court to strike down racially discriminatory laws. They also offered changes to the Constitution that would acknowledge Indigenous history, reality and aspirations. All those proposals are now replaced with the Voice. But is it to be a Voice to Parliament or a Voice to Parliament and to Government? Would the focus be only on special laws applying to the First Australians, or on any other relevant matters? This book fairly outlines both the 'Yes' case and the 'No' case, so that voters can make up their own minds before casting their vote in the referendum.

Asylum Seekers and Border Control

View A: Advocates argue for a more compassionate approach to asylum seekers, condemning offshore detention centers and calling for faster processing of refugee claims.

View B: Others stress the importance of strong borders to deter people smugglers and ensure national security.

Resources.

Issues in Society

See the 2022 Issues in Society publication on "Asylum Seekers and Refugees" from the Issues in Society box below.

See the 2020 Issues in Society publication on "Attitudes to Immigration" from the Issues in Society box below.

See the 2016 Issues in Society publication on "The Global Refugee Crisis" from the Issues in Society box below.

Echo

From the ECHO database (see the box below) click on the top right hand "Media Issues Analysis" link and then select the "2016 media issue analysis" on the left. You will now be able to select this excellent resource: "Should asylum seekers who attempt to come to Australia by boat be permanently denied any type of access to Australia?"

ALSO - DEFINITELY CHECK OUT "THE AGE DIGITAL EDITION" (YOU'LL NEED TO LOG IN FOR THAT ONE) AND "THE CONVERSATION" LINK

Same-Sex Marriage (prior to its legalisation in 2017)

View A: Supporters believed in equal rights for all and argued for the legalisation of same-sex marriage.

View B: Opponents, often based on religious or conservative beliefs, were against its legalisation.

Resources.

Issues in Society

See the 2013 Issues in Society publication on "Same-sex marriage debate" from the Issues in Society box below.

See the 2014 Issues in Society publication on "Sexual orientation and gender identity" from the Issues in Society box below.

Echo

From the ECHO database (see the box below) click on the top right hand "Media Issues Analysis" link and then select the "2017 media issue analysis" on the left. You will now be able to select this excellent resource: "Should Australia legalise same sex marriage?"

ALSO - DEFINITELY CHECK OUT "THE AGE DIGITAL EDITION" (YOU'LL NEED TO LOG IN FOR THAT ONE) AND "THE CONVERSATION" LINK

Euthanasia and Assisted Dying

View A: Proponents believe terminally ill patients should have the right to end their life with medical assistance under strict guidelines.

View B: Opponents worry about the moral and ethical implications, potential misuse, or that it may devalue life.

Resources.

Issues in Society

See the 2020 Issues in Society publication on "Voluntary Euthanasia and Assisted Dying" from the Issues in Society box below.

See the 2013 Issues in Society publication on "Voluntary euthanasia debate" from the Issues in Society box below.

Echo

And from the "2014 media issue analysis" link you can see a related resource: "Should voluntary euthanasia be made legal in Australia?"

ALSO - DEFINITELY CHECK OUT "THE AGE DIGITAL EDITION" (YOU'LL NEED TO LOG IN FOR THAT ONE) AND "THE CONVERSATION" LINK

Housing Affordability and Homelessness

View A: Advocates call for increased government intervention, like affordable housing projects and rent controls, to combat rising property prices and homelessness.

View B: Some argue that government interference could distort the market, and solutions should be market-driven.

Resources.

Issues in Society

See the 2022 Issues in Society publication on "Housing the homeless" from the Issues in Society box below.

See the 2016 Issues in Society publication on "Housing Affordability" from the Issues in Society box below.

Echo does not have a specific resource on this topic. Suggest looking at The Conversation and at articles in The Age Digital (the one in the box on the bottom left of this page).

ALSO - DEFINITELY CHECK OUT "THE AGE DIGITAL EDITION" (YOU'LL NEED TO LOG IN FOR THAT ONE) AND "THE CONVERSATION" LINK

Drug Decriminalisation

View A: Supporters believe that decriminalizing drugs can lead to fewer drug-related crimes, reduced prison populations, and better health outcomes for users.

View B: Opponents worry about the societal implications, increased usage, and the potential message it sends to younger generations.

Resources.

Issues in Society

See the 2020 Issues in Society publication on "Drug Use and Harm Reduction" from the Issues in Society box below.

See the 2016 Issues in Society publications on "Methamphetamine Use and Addiction" and "Marijuana and Health" from the Issues in Society box below.

See the 2014 Issues in Society publication on "Drug Law Reform Debate" from the Issues in Society box below.

Echo

From the ECHO database (see the box below) click on the top right hand "Media Issues Analysis" link and then select the "2014 media issue analysis" on the left. You will now be able to select this excellent resource: "Should Australian states immediately legalise the medicinal use of cannabis?"