LibGuides: Health & Physical Education: VCE Health

Health and Issues Databases

Check these basic databases for health and human resources issues. Check out Ms Kean's 'How to research issues' video below, it will really help you - and if you need more you have but to ask and more shall be given!

Science Online
Essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments. Includes extensive activities and experiments bank which may be filtered by discipline, time and number of participants.
Echo Issues database
Echo Online is where you should go for Yr 11 & 12 Issues and to find excellent breakdowns of major & popular ethical issues. You will need to enter the Username and Password - It is posted up all over the Library Walls
The Age Digital Edition
Provides searchable access to exact replicas of The Age newspapers from 2006 up to this morning's edition. You will need to use the Kilbreda library's username and password. These are posted up on the walls in the library or you can ask a friendly library staff member or teacher.

Alcohol Use

Australian Youth Drinking
Links to what is now the Department of Health AND Aged Care

Asthma

Cyber Safety

Bullying. No way!
Cybersafety Libguide
This guide has a range of resources for cybersafety information.

Homelessness

Online Exams and Preparation

Studyclix
We've broken all the main VCE subjects into bite-sized topics. Use past and trial exam questions to find the gaps in your knowledge and check your understanding using the exam report.

Also have a look at the ATARNotes+ service which is available to all students who are doing a VCE subject

Issues in Society ceased publication in 2022

Issues in Society ebooks
Click here to see all of the topics covered in the series. You will also be able to access the PDF for each of these topics.
Please note these are password protected. Use the regular password for all of Kilbreda's databases.

SAC Resources

There are also resources in the Student Wellbeing & Digital Citizenship LibGuide

AND there are more resources in the Newspapers and Issues LibGuide too

Australia's health in brief 2024 link
Links directly to the report. More information is available from the Institute's home page
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Authoritative information and statistics to promote better health and wellbeing
Australian Drug Foundation
Includes information about tobacco smoking, alcohol use and illicit drugs.
Digital Citizenship: Relationships, Parents, Mental and Physical Wellbeing
This libguide has a range of resources to help with mental health topics.
Diabetes Victoria
Information and statistics on diabetes in Australia generally with specific information relating to Victoria.
Eating Disorders
Advice on nutrition. Eating Disorders Foundation of Victoria is the primary source of support, information, community education and advocacy for people with eating disorders and their families in Victoria
Health Direct - Australian Government resources
Better Health Channel
Created by the Victorian Department of Human Services this site now has over 1,770 facts sheets, hundreds of healthy recipes, interactive features and calculators, directories and more
Beyond Blue
Information & help on depression